Book Blogger Hop, Friday 56, March Mini Challenge & Catch up . . .

Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme/book party hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy for Books. A very fun hop which gives you the chance to read some truly amazing blogs and get to know other writers in the blogosphere. The hop lasts from Friday until Monday so join at her website and go mad – get hopping!

The question asked on the Blog Hop this week was by Mia from Girl About Books

Question: Who’s your all time favourite book villain?

My answer: I honestly couldn’t say as i haven’t read many books with villains in lately and can’t really remember any from previous reads. However after reading Mia’s post i have to agree at the level of insanity of Bellatrix Lestrange from the Harry Potter books, she is a complete mad woman!

**UPDATE**

After reading a couple of great posts and remembering recent books I would have to choose Peter Teleborian from the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson he is a complete creep and got away with so much bad stuff for so long. I think the thing that weirded me out the most about his situation is that it may go on in the real world which is just purely disgusting.

So over the past week i have barely looked at my WordPress account but have been reading other bloggers post intently, commenting with care and attention (i would like to think!) and trying to concentrate on uni work (however ridiculous and boring it is). I have also been ploughing through my most recent book – The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga.

Before I even started to read this book I made a snap judgement that it would be completely political with no heart or follow through. This is not the case. There is a constant trend of political beliefs throughout the book but it is a subject that is bounced up and down and mixed up into other aspects of the main characters life, opinions, goals and achievements.

So after a week I am three-quarters of the way through the book and thoroughly enjoying every page and wondering all the time what is going to happen next, even when I have put the book down and have other things to do I cannot wait to pick it up again. I can unfortunately say that I have also been in the position to turn down a coffee meet or movie so I can stay at home and read.

Also this week I am going to be reading my first Manga book – although I have watched several cartoons and absolutely love it, not only the humour but the art is amazing. This is to take part in the March mini-challenge at In Spring it is the Dawn. This is the first challenge i have taken part in on the beautiful page as it is a keen interest of mine and I will be looking for many other interesting ones.

Naruto Volume 1 Cover

So in order to get my first Manga I need to make a trip to the nearest library and see if they have my Naruto – I have yet to read Volume 1 but have seen many of the cartoons so I think I can miss out! I will obviously let you all know what Manga book I get and what I think of it.

**UPDATE**

Friday 56 by Freda's Voice

The Friday 56

A meme hosted on Freda’s Voice.

The Rules:
– Grab a book, ANY book.
– Flick through to page 56.
– Find any sentence that grabs you.
– Post it.
– Link it here.

So my Friday 56 is ‘Ralph’s Party’ by Lisa Jewell
Ralph's Party by Lisa Jewell

My sentence:
‘I hope you don’t think I’m being unbelievably forward, but – I’ve just had this overwhelming compulsion to hug you.’

Yet again another TBR from my shelf/book box and completely picked at random from my unread side of the fence. For a random sentence it is pretty good, almost heartfelt and warm!
I think I am going to have to read this book pretty soon.

Young1

12 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop, Friday 56, March Mini Challenge & Catch up . . .

    • President Coriolanus Snow – just googled it what a brilliant name. Thanks for following that is great news and glad you like the blog! I am currently going over to yours!
      ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • Well, I love Shonen Manga. My all time fav is Onepiece (I reread it every year and hope the manga never stop). But for Hello Japan mini challenge, I will share shojo Manga.

        Like

  1. Very glad to have you join us for the Hello Japan! mini-challenge this month. And how fun that you’ll be reading your very first manga. I look forward to hearing more about it.

    P.S. The Mr. Linky on the challenge post is for once you’ve completed the challenge so I took yours down for now. Please come back with the link to your manga post later. ๐Ÿ™‚
    (I would’ve emailed you about this but couldn’t see an address listed on your blog, sorry.)

    Like

    • No worries – i am going to have to put up an email link! I need to get cracking on finding my manga! Gonna take a trip to the library tomorrow i think!

      Like

Please do share . . .

