Book Blogger Hop and more

Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop – a weekend BOOK BLOG PARTY hosted by Jennifer at Crazy for Books where you can read other bloggers posts and maybe even add a few to your subscription list like mine! Oh and don’t be afraid to comment either – it is always nice to get into a juicy conversation with someone who is just dropping by and then chooses to stay a while! This is a great opportunity to get to see some great blog posts and even get to know a few people. It lasts from Friday to Monday and you can join up at any time. Give it a try – nothing to lose right.

This weeks question was from Ellie at Musings of a Bookshop Girl:

“If I gave you £50 (or $80) and sent you into a bookshop right now, what would be in your basket when you finally staggered to the till?”

Now there are a lot of books that I currently want but the short cut version would be:

1. Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani
2. Ciao Valentine – when it is released!
3. I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
4. Further Under the Duvet by Marian Keyes
5. Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

Now looking at my list not only is it slightly large for the average price of a book shop book and it clearly would be spent at Amazon! (Online book store no?!) But my selection apart from one is very chick lit – I guess the only explanation I have for that is I like to complete a series and read most things one writer creates. Weird logic but sensible in a way.

It has been a long week for me and it seems to just keep getting busier by the day. Going from doing not so much to having to do a hell of a lot all at one time really is not a transition that I was willing to make but had to get used to in a matter of hours. Job fayres, assignments, reading, writing and just keeping a general look out of my surroundings.

So the first book of the week:

Naruto Volume 21

Naruto Volume 21 – my first ever Manga read as part of the Mini March Challenge hosted by Tanabata from In Spring it is the Dawn. I have to say although many people see Manga as just a picture book and it takes a bit of getting used to reading backwards I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to what is going to happen next. I tried to get into another Manga but was bored before I even reached the fourth page, I went back to it and got to the sixth page and put it down and yet again tried and got to the eighth page. When it is said third time lucky – well not for this manga. The Manga title I am ranting about is Bleach – now this may be someone else’s cup of tea but unfortunately not mine. It just seemed to lack substance but I guess I am slightly bias towards Naruto from previously watching the cartoon on TV.

Blind Willow Sleeping Woman

Japanese Literature was the next step – Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami. I looked the author up online and he is a novelist and short story writer ‘known for his surrealistic world of mysterious (and often disappearing) women, cats, ear lobes, wells, Western culture, music and quirky first-person narratives, he is now Japan’s best-known novelist abroad.’ (From Amazon). I have to say I have found it quite hard to get into as chopping and changing from one story to another just isn’t me – so I am afraid this book will be going back to the library unfinished much like Bleach but the hunt will be on for another Japanese Lit novel that I can sink my teeth into and replace the current titles with no love lost.

Now I have to tell you this post should have gone up about 7 hours ago but with no internet connection I was slightly stuck for posting options! Better late than never right?! Well I think so anyway!

Another part of my random musing today is the post I didn’t put up for The Friday 56 held at Freda’s Voice – it is only a short one and from the book above (Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman) as I had it to hand and as of yet have not reached that page.

Friday 56 by Freda's Voice

Now for the Friday 56 it should be on a Friday that’s the first part but the rest is quite simple:

– Grab a book – ANY book
– Go to page 56
– Pick out the sentence the catches your eye
– Post it
– Link it
– JOB DONE!

‘Whether that was the right choice or not , if I had it to do over again, I’m pretty sure I would.’

Well that is plenty for now and I will be back soon and type something just incase the internet connection ceases again!

Young1

6 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop and more

  1. I find both Bleach and Naruto meh, but I guess it just depends on one’s personal preference 🙂 There are so many different genres of manga (and anime) out there.
    Sorry to hear you didn’t like Blind Willow Sleeping Woman. I enjoyed it very much. Perhaps try Norwegian Wood, which is an easier story to get into?

    Like

  2. Thanks for joining in and reading your first manga! I haven’t tried to read Naruto or Bleach, even though they’re both so famous, I just don’t think I’m into shonen manga.
    As for Haruki Murakami, I didn’t really enjoy his short stories when I first tried to read him either, it wasn’t until I’d read some of his novels that I could appreciate the shorter works. So do try one of his other longer stories if you get a chance.

    Like

    • Going to try and read Norwegian Wood as recommended by Chinoiseries.
      I really liked the Naruto and I guess from previously having watched it found it easier to get into – i look forward to finding the next volume as seems to be hard to get hold of. Hope all is well 😀

      Like

Please do share . . .

