Room by Emma Donoghue

Room by Emma Donoghue

‘It’s Jack’s birthday, and he’s excited about turning five. He lives with his Ma in Room, which has a locked door and a skylight, and measures 11 feet by 11 feet. He loves watching TV, and the cartoon characters her calls friends, but he knows that nothing he sees on screen in truly real – only him, Ma and the things in Room. Until the day Ma admits that there’s a world outside . . .’ – Blurb from book.

If I am truly honest this book was originally bought because of the hype that surrounded it but that is one thing I stopped paying attention to. After a couple of weeks I started reading and was still slightly unsure about whether or not the book was for me. The book is written from the point of view of Jack the five year old boy who lives in Room with his Ma as it says above in the book synopsis.

From the beginning the story starts to build but gives nothing away until events actually start to unfold. A compelling story that at times had me on the brink of tears, fright for Jack and his Ma and happiness. The reviews that have surrounded this book are absolutely on point especially when they say it is compelling and will have you thinking for days on end.

Since I finished reading Room it has been on my mind going around like a helicopter blade, it makes you think about how you live and how others do, as well as taking advantage of situations that we have the luxury of experiencing. Surprisingly it highlights some of the terrible things that happen right in front of our eyes without us even flinching or actually taking stock of what is going on.

A book that I should have read in a day but took longer due to normal life, but saying that after reading it the question is: What is ‘normal’ life? And is it better to know what we do?
Some of the events that happened in this book which I will not mention with the attempt in staying spoiler free really got me thinking – is this normal? And after considering the good and bad sides I realised if all I knew was ‘that’ then it would be.

The way that Ma and Jack exist with each other and the things (Jack’s Friends) that surround them is completely surreal. Ma manages to keep an active five year old constantly searching for more with every twist and turn this book takes. Some of the activities they get up to are absolutely great and it makes me think that when I finally do get around to having kids that I will make the most of every moment I have with them. Sometimes pictures cannot truly capture the feelings of a moment but memories will stick with you forever.

Recommendation: Read this book – it will have you reeling but it will be completely worth it in the end.

Rating: 4/5

Young1

12 thoughts on “Room by Emma Donoghue

    • I’m guessing Room! Definitely worth checking it out and you are most welcome – THANK YOU for coming by and commenting – you are welcome anytime.

      Happy Reading πŸ˜€

      Like

  1. Great review! I love it when I find myself thinking about a book and all the issues it’s thrown up, both while I’m reading and long after I finish it. Things will start whirling round my head at the strangest times, like when I’m brushing my teeth! I’ve got ‘Room’ waiting on my shelves so I’ll have to boost it up the pile a bit…

    Like

    • Thank you very much πŸ˜€

      I wasn’t really too sure how i was feeling after completing Room but now i think it can be explained as a mixture of feeling slightly sick from what happened to the characters, to happiness like i said in my review! I get the random thoughts too – brushing teeth, toilet time, doing the shopping!

      You most DEFINITELY have to boost it up the pile maybe to the top!

      Happy Reading – i look forward to seeing what you get up to next! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. I was so excited to see your review–I had heard some of the hype–but it was mostly the blurb that had me intrigued!–Your review totally sold me, I checked the library, and unless I want the audio book, it looks like it’ll be a little bit of a wait–I have a feeling this book is going to creep me out, not something I want to fall asleep listening to, but definitely putting myself on the waiting list!!!

    Like

    • I don’t know if i could put up with listening to it – it was nice to let my imagination run wild with the characters and how i thought they would sound! I do however need to get into audiobooks and will be making a trip to my local library tomorrow to return some books that have not been read (sadly) and pick up one or two audio books – i am hoping there is something there that is in my PIE list!

      I really hope you get a copy of Room and soon also i look forward to reading your thoughts on it. Thanks so much for stopping by and don’t be a stranger πŸ˜€

      Like

    • Wasn’t it just and at points in the getaway it made my heart race with trying to figure out what he was doing and trying to say! I found myself wanting to scream for him! Glad you stopped by and you are more than welcome to come by anytime πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Loved your review.. Thanks for stopping by mine and pointing me to this awesome review. I just finished Bad Boy by Peter Robinson and am in the very rare ‘not reading anything right now’ phase πŸ™‚
    Looks like we have a similar taste in books..

    Like

    • No problem as you said we have very similar taste in books – which is nice. Thank you for taking the time to read my review and yours is a great one πŸ˜€

      Have you tried audio books to get you out of your slump? It may just be the written word that isn’t allowing you to further your reading – i hope you come back with a flying start soon . . .

      Look forward to seeing you on here again!

      Like

Please do share . . .

