The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

The Brightest Star in the Sky

The back of the book:

‘Welcome to 66 Star Street…
In the top floor flat lives music exec Katie. She spends her days fighting off has-been rock stars and wondering how much cheesecake you’d need to eat yourself to death. Below her, a pair of muscular Poles share with a streetwise cabbie named Lydia who has a sharp tongue, an even sharper brain but some unexpected soft spots.

On the first floor is Fionn – the gardener who prefers the company of parsnips to people. But he looks like a fairy-tale prince and when he’s offered his own television show, he’s suddenly thrust into the limelight. And at the bottom of the house live Matt and Maeve, who are Very Much In Love and who stave off despair by doing random acts of kindness.

But a mysterious visitor has just landed at 66 Star Street and big changes are on the way. Old secrets are working their way to the surface, bringing love, tragedy and an unexpected optimism. And life will be different for everyone…’

My thoughts:

The structure of this book was one of the things that drew me to the purchase. Unlike other books it is slightly haphazard with the all over chapters. Half way through the book I was lost in translation so to speak and had to put the book down. This put down lasted for about two months with no intention on return until I had worked my way through a couple other reads. Not being a massive Keyes fan seemed to have jaded my reading pattern.

However after finishing another read from another author I don’t usually read I thought I would give it another go and try to complete it. My completion was successful and within two days of not so solid reading. Honestly it has to be said that when I reached the end I am surprisingly glad that I saw it through until the end.

The characters in the book were gripping and it felt that after a while they were easy to identify with. The last quarter of the book for me was the most interesting and I did not want to put the book down. I found myself wanting more once I had reached the end.

My confusion about who was telling the story and who was the main character was carried throughout the entire book. But there were points that it was blatantly obvious who was the main teller. There were points at which I wanted to scream out loud ‘WHAT IS THE POINT OF THIS BOOK?’ but with perseverance and having nothing to do I powered through.

The beauty of the book shone through towards the end as the characters that were so carefully weaved together yet kept apart merged. There are certain aspects of reality to the story where people living in the same house (different flats) know of each other, but not know of any elements of their separate lives. Something that takes common place in London – although the book is based in Ireland (somewhere I have to go and soon!).

For me the best part of the book was when I found out the true meaning of the title and I was truly tickled. I found myself laughing out loud and hoping it was one more than the other. If I mention what I mean that would be spoiling the book so please read it and find out for yourselves. You will not be disappointed.

Pages: 612

Rating: rating3*Mediocre Beans 

Young1

 

 

Please do share . . .

