It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

It's Monday What Are You Reading?

After an onset of endearing admonishment from a close friend stating that ‘I should post more’ (in so many words!) here I am. My first Monday post in a while but nonetheless a post! Yipee! Thank you Sheila over at Book Journey for hosting such a great weekly get together for us book lovers – much appreciated 😀

Over the past couple of weeks I have been reading like a fiend and just not had the urge to actually sit and write a review. My general feeling of lacklustre towards anything that engages my brain beyond the point of absolute necessity seems to have expanded tremendously in the past three weeks.

My ever-growing need to get out of this despondent phase is coming to a head as I have to return to work after spending two amazing weeks off as annual leave and one week of misery being ill. The plus side of time off in any shape or form is having a colossal amount of time to read.

So onto the books:

READ

All of the books below that I have completed will have their reviews published when I have reached that stage of catharsis (make sense?!)

Welcome to Rosie Hopkins Sweetshop of Dreams by Jenny ColganLight, airy and perfect when you don’t want to think too much. Yet another chick lit hit that really does make you think the world is a better place that always has hot men and not much else in ways of occupying time aside from ogling said specimens.

I've Got Your Number by Sophie KinsellaAs a massive Kinsella fan I rarely find fault with her catchy reads that you just have to love but this book sadly did not hit the spot. All will be revealed in my review but don’t be expecting star jumps and high kicks! Not that I could do those if I tried.

Heart Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne

This book I am sad to say even though passed on and signed by the author I have put it on the side in the pile of books that will be picked up again when I have absolutely no desire to read anything else. Either that or I am feeling nice, I wonder which will come first!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

After hearing and seeing all the hype for this book and then watching it die down the time was right to get reading. Having wanted to see the film and it already being out of the cinema the book was the natural first step. Very unexpected!

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Not as unexpected as the first book as there is a slight grasp of the situation at hand. Being able to build a mental picture of the characters without having it spoilt by the film adaptation of the book (Let us not mention Twilight – although I love it – YES I admit it!) has been fun but with time such features of various characters has changed and with the addition of a whole host of new people in the mix things get fun.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

 Sadly the end of a trilogy that grew on me and I am actually not ashamed to say I cried at the end. It may not have warranted such emotion as it was slightly predictable but hey who doesn’t love a bit of stability and happiness as a finale to a very oddball story.

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

All I have to say about this until I publish the review is (I’m going to use capitals!). I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE THE FILM.

Fifty Shades Darker by E L James

Not the best written book but who gives a damn! Everyone wants a piece of grey (without the weirdness and mood swings of course!). Again CAN’T WAIT FOR THE MOVIE! Will be interesting to see how it gets done and which annoying actress gets to play the part of clumsy, foolish, head over heels in love Ana. I recently found a link that suggests Alexis Bledel (aka Rory Gilmore – if you don’t know google it!) would be good for the part, I have to say on the level of looks for what is described in the book yes however for likeability it would be sad to see someone so lovely be portrayed as such a fool.

Moving on . . .

CURRENTLY READING

Fifty Shades Freed by E L James

Only started it today and really wanting to know what is next. Having to plough through endless repetition is not something I am looking forward to. Yet again – CAN’T WAIT FOR THE MOVIE!

The above list of books read has been from a time span of approximately one month so I think going on my usual scale of books read this is pretty good. However it just emphasises my lack of things to do – when I am back to work I am sure the number will drastically reduce but I really do hope not. I have enjoyed being consumed by the written word and will post my reviews soon.

On that note and seeing as it is 23:45 here I am going to bid you goodnight and hope you have a fantastic week. Don’t be a stranger 😉

Young1

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow thats some list, I read Fairytale of New York by Miranda Dickinson and thoroughly loved it.It was light yet captivating throughout. Looking forward to read more of her novels 🙂

    Like

Please do share . . .

