On The Island

On The Island by Tracey Garvis Graves

Penguin says:

‘When thirty-year-old English teacher Anna Emerson is offered a summer job tutoring T.J. Callahan at his family’s holiday home in the Maldives, she accepts without hesitation: a tropical island beats the library any day.

T.J. has no desire to leave town, not that anyone asked him. He’s almost seventeen and if having had cancer wasn’t bad enough, he now has to spend his first summer in remission with his family instead of his friends.

Anna and T.J. are en route to join T.J.’s family in the Maldives when the pilot of their seaplane suffers a fatal heart attack and crash-lands in the Indian Ocean. Marooned on an uninhabited island, Anna and T.J. work together to obtain water, food, fire and shelter but, as the days turn to weeks then months and finally years, Anna begins to wonder if the biggest challenge of all might be living with a boy who is gradually becoming a man…’

 My thoughts:

My, my what a shocker. The first few pages in I was readily preparing myself for something that might pose a problem getting through. Twenty pages in and I was hooked – it was a simple as that. This book bounces between the views of Anna and T.J. who have been stranded on ‘their’ island. There will be no more said about the plot of the book as I am so excited about it that I would most likely give the whole thing away.

Laughter, anguish and love were three feelings that this book stirred for me and I am proud to say that I read the last two chapters through constantly teary eyes. There was no cliff hanger at the end and the wrap up of the story was slightly expected for the genre but beautiful nonetheless. This book was a nice light read and did not require too much figuring out as it went along the same lines as most chick lit but sometimes it is nice to kind of know what will happen. Definitely recommended for reading during a commute.

To justify my rating I would just like to say it was not based solely on the feelings I was left with after reading this book but that did have quite an impact on my decision. A book that can make you feel is definitely worth reading.

This book was kindly sent to me by the lovely people at Penguin, as well as on the penguin webpage this book can be purchased on Amazon, Waterstones and for the US Barnes & Noble.

Pages: 346

Rating: rating4*worthy fix

Have a great day!

Fay

Please do share . . .

