Booking Through Thursday – Being A Reader

Header image found on Google Images

The Question: 

Can you imagine NOT being a Reader? How does it shape your life? Your perception of it?

How does being a Reader affect your relationship with all those folks who are looking at it from the other side and simply can’t understand how you can sit and READ all the time?

My Answer:

In all honesty I would say I would be incredibly bored and most likely have the vocabulary of a teenager. I don’t know if it is just me but when I speak to people who do not read (I’m talking about don’t even read a newspaper – NOT a tabloid!) it is evident in their quality of speech that they sometimes try to use big words and are shamefully out of context and not in the slightest even embarrassed about it. This may make me sound like a bit of a snob but seriously even the simplest of books help you get a better grasp on the english language and may even expand your vocabulary – it does not have to be a political tome that is brain numbingly boring but can be something as simple as Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe. Great book!

Recently I was told that because I read so much I was a nerd and really boring. My response was at least I can define and spell most of the words I use every day can you say the same thing you loquacious fool? As you can imagine the response to that was – What? Huh?!

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Being A Reader

Please do share . . .

