Bohemia by Veronika Carnaby

Bohemia by Veronika Carnaby

Amazon says:

‘Set in 1960, Bohemia chronicles a group of twenty-somethings who defy the “ideals” of a mid-twentieth century society to seek creative fulfillment. In the process, they spotlight the creative path that artists of all mediums tread, all the while depicting the challenges faced by youth in the decade that changed the world.’

My Thoughts:

To start with I was slightly reluctant to read this book firstly because it was going back to my kindle which I previously seldom used. The other reason being that it really was not my personal choice of genre. However being a shorter than average read I dove in head first. Honestly I have to say I am glad I gave the book a chance.

At the start it was much an unknown territory for me however I did not feel like I had been thrown in at the deep end. Carnaby’s writing style is somewhat relaxed and familiar to daily life, much more of a book that seems to be written on feeling. The characters throughout were easy to relate to and I am sure that most people who read this will agree that there is one character more than others that they can personally relate to. Being only 192 pages (on the Kindle) it was a short read however not a light one. There are a few misgivings that I am sure were a mere oversight however seeing as this book has been published maybe a better editor should be hired. As you go through the storyline does continue as you would expect so it is easy enough to figure out what is really meant when such inconsistencies have been left.

Personally there was a hope that a couple of the characters would ‘get it on’ but that is something you will have to find out by reading the book. As I was not born in the 60’s it was nice to be able to read about life in that era from someones perspective who is around my age. For some reason this books brings to mind a title of a TV show that I have heard much about but never watched – The Young and The Restless. I imagine the 60’s to be an era of trials and tribulations where you had to really fight for what you had as an end result and this book just confirms such thoughts. On the brink of revolution times were hard and dreams were at arm’s length but if you were a fighter you got there in the end – this is the message I think the book conveyed.

This read has opened a door for me reading wise and I will be looking into said era a little deeper at a later date.

Whilst reading this book I made quite a few notes however my notebook has gone missing – some parts of this review may be updated but my thoughts are still the same as above and the rating will stay the same.

From:Β The Author

Pages:Β 192

Buy from: Amazon, The Book Depository, Barnes & Noble

Rating:

rating3*

Mediocre Beans

Fay

One thought on “Bohemia by Veronika Carnaby

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | Blog A Book Etc . . .

Please do share . . .

