A Festive Dislike

This song for some reason really does wind me up. I have discussed it with several people of the past week or so and there seems to be an agreement that not only is this song wildly inappropriate but quite offensive. I understand that there are millions out there that LOVE this song and will probably have opinions to share that will make my comments box somewhat of an unsavoury place to go so please do hold such thoughts in and display them somewhere else.

As the song was originally written for charity purposes it was obviously a song written with the best intentions however I think those intentions were slightly misguided. The continent of Africa has like many other undeveloped areas suffer from famine and poor health however that is not saying that Africa in its entirety fall into the same category. There are areas that are incredibly affluent however they are suffering under the hands of strong political forces that favour corruption to other such conservative or liberal views. I am sure if the Great British public heard a song that stated ‘all they’re going to get this year is life’ there would be something that would strike offense to at least a few individuals strong-minded or otherwise.

This song has been around for many years and has become somewhat legendary so I am sure it will not be dropping off the shelves. My point is that if people actually bothered to listen to the lyrics in the first place rather than just singing along because a bunch of famous people deemed it a song of good will to all men. They might have realised it was in fact a Β massive piss take to a thriving continent! Yes there is AIDS in Africa but it is a disease that is actually spread around the world and not just concentrated in this part.

The video for this song highlights some terrible parts of Africa which really have suffered terrible hunger and health issues but is it really necessary for such lines as:

‘Thank God it’s them instead of you?’

Yes a lot of money was made from this song and donated to the people who were in much need of food, water and other such things we don’t even contemplate going without but the lyrics still really get to me!

Those are my thoughts on this song and I am by no way stating that I am right or people should agree with what I think so get those knickers untwisted peeps!

Merry Christmas!

Fay

 

6 thoughts on “A Festive Dislike

  1. Oh my gosh! I never really took much notice of the lyrics, and I’ve never been a huge fan of the song but I can’t believe that they would include such lyrics as you’ve noted in your post. I Googled this song, and apparently there’s a more current version of it with more recent artists performing it, and they still sing the same lyrics. In fact, it is Bono from U2 that sings that particular line! It’s very off-putting.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment! I didn’t know that they remade the infamous song! They could have at least updated it and changed the lyrics to make them slightly more relevant even though they were irrelevant when the first song was made!
      I am glad I am not the only one that thinks this song is quite frankly just rude!

      Have a great Christmas!

      Like

  2. I never heard this song until tonight after googling (or youtubing) it. I guess what gets me the most is the assumption that the whole world should be thinking of Christmas. I’m not pretending to know a lot about other beliefs or religions, but aren’t there many many religions that do not celebrate christmas as a birth of Christ? So if you’re Hindu, you probably don’t really even think about Christmas, you think about other religious special days. I imagine if they’re referring to the tribes and/or small villages in Africa, they have their own days to celebrate and unless missionary people have gotten to them “saving” them, they’re not thinking about Christmas either, and shouldn’t have to be thinking about it.

    It’s nice that some people are worried about other people starving, needing basic necessities and medicine, etc. – but it’s not necessary to force christmas down everyone’s throat. I don’t see people forcing other religious holidays down everone’s throat – etc. I hope everyone understands what I’m trying to say here. besides the assumption that everysingle person in Africa is starving, it’s also kind of rude to expect the whole world to celebrate christmas. Peace on earth is a great sentiment, but we should be thinking about bringing about peace and helping others all throughout the year. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • I am glad you Googled it and totally agree with you that there are many different religions in this world and just because one celebrates Christmas does not mean it should be forced on to everyone. It is of personal choice to help people and give to charity as for feeding the world that is virtually impossible!!!

      I appreciate your comment very much and look forward to reading more of your thoughts in the future!

      As I do celebrate Christmas I will say to you that I hope you have a great Christmas but if you don’t celebrate it I hope you have a lovely day anyway! πŸ˜€

      Like

      • LOL – I totally do Christmas. I just think many people forget that a lot of people don’t even have it on their radar. Y’know? They have other celebrations that they don’t expect the whole world to take part in. *g*. I guess what I was trying to say, is that the song hits me the wrong way also- of course some people DON’T know (or care) that it’s christmas. The title of the song kind got to me, and then the rest was kind of….obliviously insulting to the countries of Africa and the people who ARE suffering (that part where it says be glad it’s not you). No wonder you don’t like the song. I don’t think I do either. πŸ™‚

        And Merry Christmas to you also! Happy Holiday to others, and happy life to us all. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Totally get that! A lot of the time the true meaning of Christmas is forgotten and we are all sucked up into the consumerism part of it. That being said Christmas for children is lovely when you see their faces when they open their presents and those that are too young to know what it is truly about well then that is the time to spoil them if it is possible. Obviously there are parts of the world that such a thing does not happen but it doesn’t mean that the people who have worked so hard should not enjoy life’s little pleasures you know?!

        The title of the song is just as offensive as the lyrics but you know what it’s never gonna change (sadly!)

        Definitely do not like the song however love the tune behind it so sad!!! πŸ˜€

        Merry Christmas!!! πŸ˜€

        Like

Please do share . . .

