The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan

Back of the book:

As dawn breaks over the Pont Neuf, and the cobbled alleyways of Paris come to life, Anna Trent is already awake and at work; mixing and stirring the finest, smoothest, richest chocolate; made entirely by hand, it is sold to the grandes dames of Paris.

It’s a huge shift from the chocolate factory she worked in at home in the north of England. But when an accident changed everything, Anna was thrown back in touch with her French teacher, Claire, who offered her the chance of a lifetime – to work in Paris with her former sweetheart, Thierry, a master chocolatier.

With old wounds about to be uncovered and healed, Anna is set to discover more about real chocolate – and herself – than she ever dreamed.

My thoughts:

At the beginning I found this book quite hard to get into which is very unlike me with Colgan’s books. Maybe it was due to the fact that the previous book I read was quite serious, maybe not! This book reminded me slightly of Rosie Hopkins’ (another Colgan read!) as the style of writing with chopping between two stories is delightful especially when they are from two different eras.

After the first two chapters the storyline had me swept up and I didn’t want to put it down. Sadly with limited time I couldn’t read this book in the time I would have liked. Not being far from the end I would say I can recommend this book to those of you that want a light read with that feel good feeling. Do not be put off by the first chapter as it is slightly morbid – just power through.

If anything changes by the time I get to the end of the book this review will be updated.

From: Sphere (Imprint of Little Brown)

Pages: 440

Available formats: E-Book, Paperback

Buy from:

Amazon, The Book Depository, Waterstones, WH Smith

Rating:

rating3*

Mediocre Beans

Please do share . . .

