2nd & Not Last Read-A-Thon

Yesterday marked the end of my second and most definitely not last read-a-thon. Dewey’s Read-A-Thon is international and a whole host of people joined in the fun of setting themselves colossal reading goals. Some read for charity and others just for fun. For the second time I was lucky enough to be a co-host and once again the experience was truly amazing. Being able to converse with and cheer on so many different readers in just a two-hour period was great. There are blogs that have been added to my reading list and I am sure that I will be reading for a long time to come.

Not only is it a collective of bibliophiles but within that community of book lovers friendships have started or been cemented from previous talks and word is spread far and wide that the book community is here to stay. There has been controversy that has been slightly damning to the reputation of book bloggers vs ‘real’ critics. Personally as a book blogger I think it is sad that people find it necessary to say such hurtful things about people who just really like to read and share their opinions with each other. However as we live in a society of ‘kick a man whilst he is down’ such is life.

Moving on from the negativity this Read-A-Thon provided myself and over 700 others the excuse to block out the real world and settle in with as many good books as our eyes could rest on.

My final number is a meagre 1.5 as I am still reading the second book however between tweeting for support, instagramming and just generally keeping an eye out on the social side of things my reading was abandoned slightly. It didn’t help that I also overslept but hey ho!

If you have taken part in Dewey’s Read-A-Thon please do get in contact as I would love to hear about your experience. If you were unable to take part there will be another one in October – for dates check the Read-A-Thon websiteIf there are any other Read-A-Thon’s that you are thinking about taking part in please do let me know as any excuse to sack of daily chores and read is welcome over here!

Now I will leave you with a little tune that has been a favourite for some time and just popped into my head as I was writing this post! It is a slight change from the original!

Please do share . . .

