REVIEW: The Alchemist By Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist

 

Back of the Book

This is the magical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who dreams of travelling the world in search of a worldly treasure as fabulous as any ever found. From his home in Spain he journeys to the markets of Tangiers, and from there into the Egyptian desert, where a fateful encounter with the alchemist awaits him.

Screen Shot 2014-04-26 at 13.25.56

Before I start with my thoughts I just wanted to share with you how privileged I feel to have a book that clearly meant so much to someone else. If and when you read this book I hope you like it as much as I did. 

My Thoughts

This book has been on my list of MUST READ’s for quite some time. Having the opportunity to read it through the read-a-thon was the perfect time to get it off the shelf and plough away. Well ploughing and this book are definitely two words that do not fit together. Maybe it was just me but it was quite a slow read and there were points where I thought it was a little self-righteous. But overall this is how I felt . . .

My absolute favourite part of this book would have to be about ¾ of the way through where everything I had read so far began to fall into place. The anticipation of ‘the boy’ meeting the alchemist was built up beautifully and the actual meeting was in my mind spectacular. In reality it was the moment that all the little things in the world stood still and made me pay attention.

This book is not only a story but a nudge in the direction of reflection over your personal life and I reckon most of the people who have read this actually had similar thoughts to myself. These thoughts being ‘Hold up, wait a minute – let me step back, re-evaluate and really LIVE‘.

There are so many things in life that we take for granted and living each day in exactly the same way due to comfort is one thing that I am guilty of. Now I am not saying that there is anything wrong with routine and habit as I am a definite creature of habit BUT this book really did make me think.

Where I mentioned earlier that I felt that parts of the book were a little self-righteous – without giving anything away there were parts of the book that just did not sit too well with me. There is quite a heavy weighting with regards to religion but that is not what bothered me. I know this is the place to bear all and explain but at this moment in time I just cannot explain it.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone out there who is looking for a little positivity and in search of maybe a renewed look on life.

With all of the positives from this book I still do not feel completely blown away hence my rating.

‘Instead, it brought the scent of a perfume he knew well, and the touch of a kiss – a kiss that came from far away, slowly, slowly, until it rested on his lips. The boy smiled. It was the first time she had done that. “I’m coming Fatima,” he said.’

rating4*worthy fix

One thought on “REVIEW: The Alchemist By Paulo Coelho

  1. Great review, Fay! I read this so many years ago, so I’m definitely due a re-read. I think it would be interesting to compare my childhood/adulthood readings too!

    I definitely agree that the sense of anticipation in the book plays a huge role… characters coming together, plot lines finally being realised etc.

    There aren’t many books like this one, really!

    Like

Please do share . . .

