REVIEW: The Humans by Matt Haig

The Humans by Matt Haig

The Back of the Book says

‘THERE’S NO PLACE LIKE HOME.
OR IS THERE?

After an ‘incident’ one wet Friday night where Professor Andrew Martin is found walking naked through the streets of Cambridge, he is not feeling quite himself. Food sickens him. Clothes confound him. Even his loving wife and teenage son are repulsive to him. He feels lost amongst a crazy alien species and hates everyone on the planet. Everyone, that is, except Newton, and he’s a dog. 

What could possibly make someone change their mind about the human race. . . ?’

My Thoughts

This book has literally been EVERYWHERE with me. It is one book that I have tried to protect from external damage and I haven’t done too badly but it has definitely succumbed to some unknown page folds and creases that leave me feeling quite displeased.

The style of writing however is a completely different story. From beginning to end this book had me in stitches. With a book like this it is hard to carry on through your daily routine and not think thoughts such as ‘If only it was like in the book things would be much simpler!’. This book has such a tight grasp on actual reality and what society does not like to recognise that it is actually quite scary. If people actually woke up and smelt the proverbial coffee it would be a very different world. This exploration of such a different world was absolutely fabulous as it really felt great to read this book. Usually with a book as great as this I would have usually flew through it however it took me a little longer than I would like to admit to read this.

Thank you to the lovelies at Canongate Publishers for sending me this delightful book and sorry it took so long to get a review up!

Haig’s style of writing is truly genius and I really cannot fault this book. Around 20 pages in I even recommended it to someone who shares my positive thoughts on this book and loves it just as much. Pass it on. Enough said!

Rating

rating5*

premium java

One thought on “REVIEW: The Humans by Matt Haig

  1. Pingback: The Humans- Matt Haig | Lucybird's Book Blog

Please do share . . .

