REVIEW: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Back of the Book

A love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

My Thoughts

This book has been on my ‘To Be Read’ list for some time now. Any book about books is a hit with me especially with a bit of romance thrown in and seeing as it starts of with just that I was hooked. However being a Young Adult book it was slightly out of my territory but this one I would go beyond!

With Christmas around the corner Lily and Dash find themselves respectively alone. One by choice and the other by partial abandonment.

Lily – An outcast to everyone else but a superstar in my head. For a young girl to walk out in an outfit that she likes instead of trying to fit in with the ‘in crowd’ takes a lot of guts and it is something that I would never have had the balls to do back in the day. With her trusty red book she feels safe and by sending messages to and fro with Dash a friendship/love affair happens. In the days before mobile phones and internet is this what happened. Well I would hope it still happens.

Dash – 16-year-old supposed Snarly Adonis with a turbulent home life that he takes in his stride and just gets on with things from such an adult perspective. The one thing I loved about reading Dash’s parts of the book is that he is the perfect compliment to Lily. Where Lily constantly questions herself, he also does however seems to have the solution for most things and comes to these conclusions very concisely.

The Ending – Of course I am not going to tell you. What I will say is that for a book that I wrote off due to genre I can safely say I won’t be doing that again. It was so great I stayed up until 2am reading it.

Having never read any books from either author I was a total blank canvas to their writing. Now that isn’t to say that I will go crazy and read everything they have written. However if one of their books does cross my path in the future I will not be so quick to dismiss it!

Rating

rating4* worthy fix

Please do share . . .

